Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 23, 2017, 10:29:34 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
SMF - Just Installed
921 Posts in 264 Topics by 2344 Members
Latest Member: DezHowl
* Home Help Search Login Register

The West Highland Way

Perfect companion: 4th edition of our
popular waterproof guidebook, updated 2015
Discount code: RRforums

+  Rucksack Readers
|-+  Rucksack Readers
| |-+  West Highland Way, from near Glasgow to Fort William, Scotland
| | |-+  Help sought by novice walker September 2011

« previous next »

Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Help sought by novice walker September 2011  (Read 7465 times)
mrmoog

Email
« on: September 13, 2010, 03:32:35 pm »

Hi guys,
First off: nice forum think i will get some hints and tips here no probs!

I am wanting to do the WHW for Strathcarron Hospice next year.  I have done a few things for them but for me this would be the best achievement for me and them. I am a novice and have not done any walking since my teens and I'm 32 now.  I'm looking for as much help with how to prepare and what to take and also accommodation.  I will be on a shoestring budget so luxury is off. I have a year to get all my gear needed and broken in etc, so pls Rucksack Readers lend a newbie a hand........ Cheesy
Jacquetta
Administrator

WWW Email
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2010, 08:23:53 pm »

Hi there and welcome

We like to help novices, and it's not that long since I did my first WHW anyway, so here goes.  Since it's for Strathcarron Hospice, we are pleased to offer you a free book on condition only that you post again on this forum to let us know how you get on.  Please note, this is a one-off offer, not free books for all who post on our forums!

Just send a direct email to info@rucsacs.com with date of your sponsored walk and full personal details. 
Bye now
Jacquetta

Jacquetta Megarry, publisher of Rucksack Readers and forum moderator
bsmyth
Trusted Member

Email